Skip navigation

RED BULL’S Mark Webber will start today’s British Grand Prix at Silverstone from Pole-Position, continuing the utter dominance displayed by
the Austrian team this season.

Webber’s Q3 time of 1:30.399 (146.033-mph) was just 0.032-seconds quicker than the fastest time set by his team-mate and reigning world champion, Sebastian Vettel, who will start from second on the grid. Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso will start the race from third on the grid, despite having slid off the track in Q1 at Luffield but kept his Ferrari going.

Q3, like the rest of qualifying, was affected by changeable weather conditions which resulted in some drivers being out of place on the grid.

Fourth to tenth on the grid for today’s race are: 4th) Felipe Massa (Ferrari), homeboys Jenson Button (McLaren) and Paul di Resta (Force India) are fifth and sixth respectively, 7th) Pastor Maldonado (Williams), 8th) Kamui Kobayashi (Sauber), 9th) Nico Rosberg (Mercedes) and 10th) Lewis Hamilton (McLaren) in his home race.

He and Rosberg were really scuppered by the weather, but the pace of the McLaren is something to get worried about.

Q2 saw places 11-17 filled by: 11th) Adrian Sutil (Force India), 12th) Sergio Pérez (Sauber), 13th) Michael Schumacher (Mercedes), 14th) Vitaly Petrov (Renault), 15th) Rubens Barrichello (Williams), 16th) Nick Heidfeld (Renault) and 17th) Heikki Kovalainen (Lotus).

Yes Lotus’s stride towards the ‘established’ teams continues. This time their presents in Q2 was at the expense the Toro Rosso team who saw both drivers eliminated in Q1.

Q1 (as we all know) fills places 18-24 on the grid. 18th and 19th on the grid are the Toro Rossos of Jamie Alguersuari (who for the third race in a row failed to get out of Q1, but he did at least go quicker than his team-mate) Sébastien Buemi. Timo Glock (Virgin) is 20th on the grid, followed by: 21st) Jarno Trulli (Lotus), 22nd) Jérôme d’Ambrosio (Virgin), 23rd) Vitantonio Liuzzi (HRT) and Formula 1 debutant, Australia’s Daniel Ricciardo (Narain Karthikeyan’s replacement at HRT) who qualified 24th and last for his first Grand Prix.

Ricciardo (pronounced Riccardo – the second ‘i’ is silent) was over a second inside the 107% Rule time of 1:39.156, setting a 1:38.059.
Yes, he is over half-a-second slower than his team-mate, but he has been faster than him in practice at some points. His participation in this Grand Prix means that for the first time since the 1977 Austrian Grand Prix we have two Australians on the grid. Back then it was Alan Jones (Shadow) and Vern Schuppan (Surtees). This was Jones’s first F1 win and Shadow’s only victory by the way.

Now for my winner prediction. We have two Australians racing today, one at the front of the grid and one at the back. The one at the front will win.

Previous winners of the British Grand Prix starting the race today

  • Michael Schumacher, 3 – 1998, 2002 & 2004 (all for Ferrari).
  • Rubens Barrichello, 2003 (Ferrari).
  • Fernando Alonso, 2006 (Renault).
  • Lewis Hamilton, 2008 (McLaren).
  • Sebastian Vettel, 2009 (Red Bull).
  • Mark Webber, 2010 (Red Bull).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: