Skip navigation

ONE of England’s main rivals in the race to host the 2018 FIFA World Cup has withdrawn their bid.

The U.S.A. bid team have now switched their focus entirely to bidding for the 2022 World Cup. In return England has pulled out of the running to host the 2022 World Cup and will focus on the 2018 bid.

This means that Europe will host the World Cup in 2018, with: Belgium & Netherlands, Russia and Portugal & Spain being England’s opposition.

The countries in the running for the 2022 tournament are: Australia, Japan, Qatar, South Korea and U.S.A.

Indonesia and Mexico pulled out of both races some time ago.

Personally, I’d award England the 2018 World Cup (even if I wasn’t English) and award the U.S.A. the 2022 World Cup. The last time the United States held the World Cup in 1994, the whole thing was a huge success.

FIFA will announce both the 2018 and 2022 winning bids on 2 December.

Looking even further into the future, I’d award the 2026 World Cup (if they bid and deserved it) to either China or Australia, and the 2030 World Cup (the 100th anniversary edition) to the 1930 hosts Uruguay. Why not?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: