Skip navigation

RAFAEL NADAL, 24, became only the seventh man to complete the Tennis Career Grand Slam with his 6-4 5-7 6-4 6-2 win over Novak Djokovic in yesterday’s (13 September) US Open Men’s Final at Flushing Meadows, New York City (New York).

World No. 1 - Rafael Nadal

He joins: Fred Perry, Don Budge, Rod Laver, Roy Emerson, Andre Agassi and his arch-rival Roger Federer as the only male Tennis players to have won the: Australian Open, French Open, Wimbledon and US Open titles.

The Spaniard won his first of so far five French Open titles in 2005 aged just 19. He then defended his title in: 2006, 2007 and in 2008. He lost his title in 2009 to Roger Federer – this win earned Federer his Career Grand Slam – but The King of Clay regained his French Open crown this year.

His first Wimbledon title came in 2008 after finally ending Federer’s reign of five years in one of the greatest matches of all time. His second Wimbledon came this year after missing out in 2009 through injury.

His only Australian Open title came last year, beating Federer in yet another five set epic.

The left-hander is also the reigning Olympic Champion from Beijing. He has been in 11 Grand Slam Finals and lost just two – both to Federer at Wimbledon in 2006 and 2007.

His trademark is biting the trophy he has just won in front of the worlds press, and I believe that we will see plenty more bite marks in Tennis silverware for years to come.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: