Skip navigation

AUSTRALIA’S Neil Robertson, 28, has become the first Australian to win the World Snooker Championship since Horace Lindrum in 1952. Robertson is also the first non-British winner since 1997 (Ken Doherty, RoI) and the first non-British or Irish winner since 1980 (Cliff Thorburn, Canada).

Neil Robertson – World Champion

The ‘Thunder from Down Under’ beat Scotland’s Graeme Dott 18 frames to 13 in a pretty anti-climatic final at the Crucible Theatre in Sheffield. Both players didn’t play at their best with numerous easy misses and not too excellent positional play. Dott scored the only century of the final, 112 in the 22nd frame. The last ball was potted at 00:54 BST.

On his way to the world title, Robertson beat: Fergal O’Brien (10-5), Martin Gould (13-12), six-time world champion Steve Davis (13-5) and Ali Carter (17-12).

Remarkably, Robertson was 0-6 and 5-11 down to Gould in the second round.

For me the highlight of this year’s tournament was the legendary Steve Davis beating defending champion John Higgins 13-11 in the second round. With this win Davis made his first quarter-finals in the world championship since 2005, and at the age of 52, became the oldest player to reach this stage since Eddie Charlton in 1983 (the year of Davis’s second world title).

Mark Allen made the first ever 146 break at the Crucible in the second round against Mark Davis. Graeme Dott then went on to make the same break later on in the tournament to split the £10,000 for the highest break.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: