Skip navigation

SIXTEEN years ago today, Formula 1 lost its greatest driver.

Ayrton Senna da Silva was killed whilst leading the early stages of the 1994 San Marino Grand Prix, just a day after rookie Austrian driver Roland Ratzenberger died.

His death rocked the sport to its very core. Some outside F1 even called for the sport to be banned.

But over the last 16 years the sport has gotten safer and safer, and Senna’s death is still the last of a driver in F1.

My hero was just 34 years old when he died. I was just 11/2. But through: watching videos, reading books, listening to my dad and even writing a well received school project on him when I was 11, I feel as if I have seen his whole career.

Ayrton Senna remains an inspiration to millions of people, me included.

I’ll leave you with this quote that sums up his life beautifully.

“The brightest stars burn out the fastest.”

One Comment

  1. Some of us will always remember. It’s particularly heartening to read that someone who didn’t get to experience him in real time is keeping his spirit alive.


Leave a Reply

