Skip navigation

 

I’ve just come back from seeing Rich Hall in Dartford. He doesn’t seem too struck on the place though. He said it was like the town was taking part in the Witness relocation programme. LOL!

The running themes of the night was that several people in the audience seemed to be in lines of work which all involved Hydraulic pumps of all things, and about 10 or so people turned up late. He also kept going on about the top levels of the theater being empty. But besides the non sell out, the crowd seemed to enjoy it. I certainly did. But one woman sitting behind us was laughing so loudly it was getting annoying. Theres always one.  One thing I think that he is still getting used to is the fact that British audiences are very quiet compared to American ones. They seem to be able to entertain themselves by shouting the whole time. Whereas we have come and paid to be entertained.

One stand out joke was about how to get the U.S.A out of its $11 trillion debt. He suggested selling states that didn’t really do a lot to try and get them back into the black. I recon that could work, the US would make a great Monopoly board.

After the interval, Otis Lee Crenshaw and the Honky Tonk Assholes played an amazingly funny set of improvised comedy songs. For those of you who don’t know, Otis is Rich Halls ‘Uncle’. 

After the show, I actually got to meet Rich Hall himself, and got a signed CD of Otis and his band from him. While I had the chance, I asked him how much his home state of Montana would be worth. Answer: About $850. 🙂

Another highlight of my day was seeing the Film ‘Grand Prix’ for the very first time. I have always wanted to see the film based around the sport that I hold dearest to my heart, and even though it is over 40 years old and extremely cheesy, I loved it. However, do was more interested in the then ground breaking camera shots, and all the cameos by the big name drivers of the 1960s. I must see if I can get it on DVD in the future.

2 Comments

  1. I can see you!!!

    Good bit of blogging Alex.

    G’dad Ron

  2. Chimpanzee riding on a segway


Leave a Reply

